• Truck Racing and Fireworks - Brands Hatch
  • Rally and Fireworks - Oulton Park
  • Snetterton Fireworks
  • Rally and Fireworks - Cadwell Park
  • MSV 2019 Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Byrne fastest as top 19 covered by 0.939s in Knockhill warm up

Sunday, June 29 2014

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne set the pace in the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship warm up at Knockhill this morning as pole-sitter Ryuichi Kiyonari crashed out in a hectic session with the top 19 riders covered by just 0.939s.

Josh Brookes had been one of the first riders to post a flying lap and then the Milwaukee Yamaha rider was quickly displaced by James Ellison and then Byrne in a frantic start to the 15 minute session. There was drama for the Buildbase BMW team when pole-sitter Ryuichi Kiyonari crashed out on his fourth lap, sliding off at turn six unhurt.

 At the front Byrne continued to improve his pace ahead of Ellison and arch rival Brookes, but the session was red flagged when Bathams BMW's Patric Muff crashed out at turn four with just three minutes remaining. The Swiss rider was able to walk away, but the stricken bike was in the track.

The session resumed for a final three minute shootout and Byrne was able to hold the position into today's opening race from Ellison and Brookes with Chris Walker pushing his way up to fourth on the second Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki.

Tommy Bridewell was fifth fastest as he edged out Ben Wilson who climbed the order for Gearlink Kawasaki, with Dan Linfoot, Stuart Easton in close contention. Team WD-40 Kawasaki made it into the top ten with Barry Burrell in ninth whilst Tyco Suzuki's John Hopkins completed the top ten.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Knockhill, warm up result:

  1. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 48.368s
  2. James Ellison (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) +0.037s
  3. Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.273s
  4. Chris Walker (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) +0.368s
  5. Tommy Bridewell (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.436s
  6. Ben Wilson (Gearlink Kawasaki) +0.484s
  7. Dan Linfoot (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) +0.509s
  8. Stuart Easton (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +0.590s
  9. Barry Burrell (Team WD-40 Kawasaki) +0.595s
  10. John Hopkins (Tyco Suzuki) +0.619s

The next round of the MCE British Superbike Championship is at Brands Hatch for the Big Brands Bash. Weekend and camping tickets for the 17/18/19 July are available now from just £51. Kids under 13 go free. All three days take place on the famed Grand Prix circuit with a bustling programme of support races and two MCE BSB races on the Sunday. To book tickets now call 0843 453 9000 or click here.