• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Russell doubles up to take race three win and championship lead

Sunday, April 27 2014

Lanan Racing's George Russell has claimed a dominant win in race three, his second win of the day. Arjun Maini claimed his first F4 podium with second place to make it a Lanan Racing 1-2, with Diego Menchaca finishing third for Douglas Motorsport.

Chris Middlehurst secured his best result of the weekend with fourth place for Mark Godwin Racing, fending off a challenge from Lanan's Struan Moore. Pole sitter Sennan Fielding recovered from a spin to take sixth having also set fastest lap, with team mate Will Palmer seventh.

Charlie Eastwood secured eighth for Douglas Motorsport ahead of team mate Rodrigo Fonseca with Gustavo Lima completing the top-10.

Pole sitter Fielding led the pack away from the line but was passed around the opening lap by Sean Walkinshaw Racing's Nicolas Beer. Fielding made contact with Beer on the second lap, sending Fielding spinning down to 14th while Beer was left stricken with radiator damage. The incident released race two winner Russell who had made an excellent start from sixth on the grid.

While those behind him engaged in battle for the podium positions, Russell was able to pull out a comfortable lead to claim his second win of the day and the championship lead.

After being passed by Russell, Beer dropped to fourth with Menchaca and Maini also following through. Beer was then eliminated from the race shortly afterwards after contact with another driver.

Maini set his sights on Menchaca and after swarming over his gearbox, made a move stick on lap five to give Lanan Racing a 1-2, with Menchaca claiming his second podium of the weekend in third. 

Middlehurst played a starring role in the race, rising from 15th on the grid to take a very strong fourth for Mark Godwin Racing. A strong opening lap saw him gain six places and by lap three was running in sixth. Not content with that position, he continued to push on and gained another two positions on the next lap to take fourth.

Middlehurst came under late race pressure from Struan Moore, who after starting on the back row of the grid for the second race running, again put in an overtaking master class to take fifth place. Moore gained nine places on the opening lap and by lap five was in sixth place. He then engaged in an entertaining battle with Sennan Fielding, with the pair exchanging positions at least twice before Moore made a decisive move on lap seven.

Fielding was forced to settle for sixth after recovering well from his spin, while Will Palmer secured another solid result in seventh place. Charlie Eastwood's eighth place for Douglas Motorsport is his strongest result of the weekend, as was ninth for Mexican team mate Rodrigo Fonseca. Lima's 10th place completed a competitive weekend from the Brazilian, who enjoyed one of the best weekends of his F4 career.

Previous title leader Raoul Hyman had a difficult race. Starting from eighth on the grid he fell to 20th on the first lap after being hit by David Wagner, causing damage to his car. Despite this, Hyman recovered to 12th at the end of the race.

The top three in the race were presented with their trophies by Arden Motorsport's GP3 racer Jann Mardenborough.

With Russell taking a double win today, the British driver holds the championship lead at the end of the weekend with Menchaca second for Douglas Motorsport and Hyman now third for HHC Motorsport.

Speaking afterwards, a delighted Russell enthused: "It's been a really good job by the team this weekend. We finished first and third in the second race and now first and second, so it's been a fantastic weekend for us and it wouldn't have been so good if it wasn't for their efforts.

"The car has been very consistent all weekend and it's paid off. Getting the gap after the first couple of laps and being able to maintain it was brilliant."

BRDC F4 Championship, Silverstone GP, race three result:

1. George Russell, Lanan Racing, 10 laps
2. Arjun Maini, Lanan Racing, +3.025s
3. Diego Menchaca, Douglas Motorsport, +7.149s
4. Chris Middlehurst, Mark Godwin Racing, +10.354s
5. Struan Moore, Lanan Racing, +10.533s
6. Sennan Fielding, HHC Motorsport, +11.020s
7. Will Palmer, HHC Motorsport, +15.602s
8. Charlie Eastwood, Douglas Motorsport, +16.140s
9. Rodrigo Fonseca, Douglas Motorsport, +18.887s
10. Gustavo Lima, Hillspeed, +26.638s