• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Hughes takes sixth pole of the season to clinch Pole Position Cup

Saturday, September 28 2013

Jake Hughes has qualified on pole position for this afternoon's first BRDC F4 race of the weekend. In doing so he also becomes the first prize winner of the weekend, securing the Jack Cavill Pole Position Cup, and the £1,000 end of season prize.

Matty Graham was second for Sean Walkinshaw Racing ahead of the impressive Matt Mason competing with Mark Godwin Racing. Championship contender Seb Morris will start fourth for Hillspeed, while private entrant James Greenway climed fifth. Charlie Robertson was sixth fastest for HHC Motorsport, with Jake Dalton (Lanan), Diego Menchaca (MGR), James Fletcher (KBS), and Struan Moore (Hillspeed) completing the top-10.

Jack Barlow, who is currently second in the championship will start 13th for Sean Walkinshaw Racing. Max Cornelius, who makes his F4 debut this weekend will start a respectable 16th.

Pole position for Hughes earns him an additional £150, meaning he has claimed £850 in total for pole positions throughout the course of the season, and as the overall winner of the competition, will claim an additional £1,000.

Intriguingly, should the race finish in the current starting order, Hughes would also be crowned provisional champion today.

Like most qualifying sessions this year, it was another fascinating battle at the top, mainly between Graham and Hughes. Graham was fastest early on but Hughes was constantly pegging him back. Hughes eventually claimed the fastest time, but Graham immediately re-took top spot with five minutes remaining. It was only at the end of the session that Hughes secured pole, crossing the line just seconds before the red flags flew when Menchaca crashed under the Starkey Bridge.

BRDC F4 Championship, Donington Park, Qualifying Session

1. Jake Hughes
2. Matty Graham
3. Matt Mason
4. Seb Morris
5. James Greenway
6. Charlie Robertson
7. Jake Dalton
8. Diego Menchaca
9. James Fletcher
10. Struan Moore