• British GT-F3 - Snetterton
  • Modified Live - Snetterton
  • MSV Trackdays
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Hayes and Radcliffe conquer ‘into the night’

Saturday, November 23 2013

Intersport BMW pairing of Hayes and Radcliffe controlled the Britcar 'into the Night' race from the front after claiming pole earlier in the day, beating fellow front-row starter Michael Symons in the 90 minute endurance.

It looked as though the fight was between the Intersport BMW and the Tom Howard and Mike Moss BMW for the win in the first part of the race, but the Moss Motorsport UK duo were undone by an unexpected tyre change during the pitstop phase. The front two were the last to pit and they both headed in on the same lap, with Intersport 10 seconds in the lead.

When Moss Motorsport UK finally emerged from the pits, the leading Intersport M3 wasted no time in  lapping their rival. Mike Symons, driving solo in a BMW M3, was able to leapfrog into second and began to close on the leader, claiming fastest lap along the way. Hayes reacted and managed the gap to the flag in the darkness, pushing the gap back out to over 20 seconds by the finish.

The inter-GT Academy graduate battle was won by Stanislav Aksenov and Flurian Strauss, stretching away from the identical Nissan 370Z driven by Miguel Faisca and Lee Cunningham as the race neared an end. Aksenov handed over to Strauss ahead of Faisca, and Strauss eked out a gap to claim fourth. Cunningham was subjected to late pressure from the Porsche 993 of Class 3 winner Richard Bennett, eventually succumbing with just one minute to go.

Remarkably, the one and a half hour endurance only suffered one retirement, Maraviec and co-champion Mark Wilds, who ran out of fuel 17 laps from the end. Oddly, the retirement still handed Wilds second in class and secured the championship win for the other car he shared in the race with Ian Lawson and Anthony Wilds. The result was enough hand the trio the Production championship.

Britcar 'into the Night' top six classification

  1. Radcliffe/Hayes - 99 laps
  2. Michael Symons - +29.870
  3. Howard/Moss - +2 laps
  4. Aksenov/Strauss - +2 laps
  5. Richard Bennett - +3 laps
  6. Faisca/Cunningham - +4 laps

Click here for the full result