• British GT-F3 - Snetterton
  • Modified Live - Snetterton
  • MSV Trackdays
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Double winner Lyons is pride of Brands Hatch Masters Festival

Monday, May 27 2013

Michael Lyons roared to a second FIA Masters Historic Formula One Championship victory at Brands Hatch today (Sunday), as the Masters Historic Festival drew to a conclusion. Lyons dominated, just as he did yesterday, in his RAM-liveried Williams FW07.

Simon Fish finished second, 47 seconds later, in his Ensign N180, whilst a thrilling battle ensued for the final podium place. Ian Simmonds, driving a Tyrrell 012 and Mike Wrigley, in a Williams FW07B, raced wheel-to-wheel in their fight, which was eventually settled in the former's favour.

A pair of Lotuses completed the top six, with Gregory Thornton's Type 92 heading the 76 of Andrew Beaumont, who took class honours for the older cars.

FIA Masters Historic Formula One Race Two
1, Michael Lyons, RAM Williams FW07, 19 Laps
2, Simon Fish, Ensign N180, +47.296s
3, Ian Simmonds, Tyrrell 012, +1:16.448s
4, Mike Wrigley, Williams FW07B, +1:21.291s
5, Andrew Beaumont, Lotus 76/1, +1 Lap
6, Gregory Thornton, Lotus 92/5, +1 Lap

Meanwhile Leo Voyazides and Simon Hadfield dominated the FIA Masters Historic Sportscar race from pole position in their Lola T70. Running second for some time was Manfredo Rossi Di Montelera's Abarth Osella PA1, however he lost the place to the Allen and Gathercole Lola T212 that shared the second row of the grid.

The leader lapped every driver up to second place during the hour-long encounter, which included AC/DC's Brian Johnson, plus former BTCC drivers Anthony Reid and Mike Jordan amongst the entries.

FIA Masters Historic Sports Cars Race
1, Voyazides/Hadfield, Lola T70, 38 Laps
2, Allen/Gathercole, Lola T212, +1:20.659s
3, Di Montelara, Abarth Osella PA1, +1 Lap
4, McIntyre, McLaren M1C, +1 Lap
5, Cousins/Wheatley, Chevron B23 +1 Lap
6, Wrigley/Lyons, Chevron B16, +1 Lap

The Cooper Jaguar T33 of John Young and Chris Ward led the early stages of the RAC Woodcote Trophy from the Carlos Monteverde/Gary Pearson Jaguar D-Type. However a braking problem for the leader when heading for the mandatory pitstop changed the order and the D-Type team claimed the honours. John Ure and Nick Wrigley's Cooper Bristol T24/25 took second place.

David Methley continued his domination of the FIA Lurani Trophy with another win over Jonathon Hughes, this time by a bigger margin. However Hughes prevailed in the Historic Grand Prix Cars Association race for 1950s and 60s F1 machinery. His Cooper T53 headed the Lotus 18/21 of Peter Horsman by just under five seconds, with Rod Jolley's Cooper T45/51 taking third spot.

The day, which also featured glorious demonstration runs from BRM V12-engined F1 cars, ended with a 90-minute Gentlemen Drivers race featuring a wide variety of classic GT racers. Late troubles denied Sean and Michael McInerney's TV Griffith from taking the final chequered flag of the day, leaving Mike Whitaker Snr's similar car to inherit the win.

In two weeks' time, Brands Hatch hosts the inaugural American SpeedFest (9 June), headlined by NASCAR action. Tickets are available from £18, with free entry for children aged 12 and under. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.