• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Jake Hughes storms to pole at Brands Hatch

Saturday, July 27 2013

Jake Hughes has claimed pole position for today's opening BRDC F4 race on the Brands Hatch GP circuit. Pietro Fittipaldi put in his best qualifying effort of the year to take second place with Charlie Robertson third for HHC Motorsport.

Matt Bell claimed fourth for Douglas Team E-Lites after being fastest in practice this morning, with Raoul Hyman fifth for HHC Motorsport. Seb Morris posted the sixth quickest time for Hillspeed, ahead of Sean Walkinshaw Racing's Jack Barlow, and championship leader Jake Dalton eighth for Mark Godwin Racing. Motionsport's Ross Gunn and SWR's Matty Graham rounded out the top 10.

The session was closely fought with just over a second covering the top 10 on the 2.43 mile Grand Prix circuit, and the fight for pole was contested by just fractions of a second initially, with Bell, Hughes and Robertson taking turns at the front.

But it was a 1m26.746s lap that claimed pole for Hughes with five laps remaining. Indeed Hughes was the only driver to set a lap time in the 1m26s, with his time being almost four tenths clear of Fittipaldi.

Meanwhile, just over five thousandths of a second covered Team KBS' Falco Wauer in 13th to HHC's Gustavo Lima in 17th.

Race one takes place at 16.35pm with full updates and live timing available on this website.

Speaking afterwards, Hughes enthused: "I spent a few laps finding space and when I did I put a run together and the second one ended up being my pole lap. I was happy with the lap, there wasn’t much else I could have got out of it really so I’m very happy."

BRDC F4 Championship, qualifying result:

1. Jake Hughes, Lanan Racing, 1m26.746s
2. Pietro Fittipaldi, Mark Godwin Racing, +0.394s
3. Charlie Robertson, HHC Motorsport, +0.415s
4. Matt Bell, Douglas Team E-Lites, +0.653s
5. Raoul Hyman, HHC Motorsport, +0.750s
6. Seb Morris, Hillspeed, +0.774s
7. Jack Barlow, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +0.776s
8. Jake Dalton, Mark Godwin Racing, +0.897s
9. Ross Gunn, Motionsport, +1.008s
10. Matthew Graham, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +1.035s

Click here to download the full result.