• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
MSVR Season Review Part 3 - single seaters

Thursday, December 19 2013

Once again the MotorSport Vision Racing season surpassed its best-ever year and hosted no fewer than 37 events in 2013. With a growing portfolio of some of the country's best club championships, MSVR's 2013 produced some of the closest racing on the best circuits in the UK. MSVR visited Castle Combe and Zolder for the first time, and introduced three new series to much acclaim.

We're taking a look back at all of the winners with this final instalment of a three part series, looking at the single seaters.

This year saw the launch of the BRDC Formula 4 Championship and it enjoyed an absorbing inaugural season. Jake Hughes won the first ever title in his first year out of karting, winning four times against some of the brightest young talents in UK motorsport.

Matt Bell made history at Silverstone by winning the first race of the championship but he could only manage eighth despite three wins, a win record Charlie Robertson and Jake Dalton both matched. Seb Morris joined Robertson and Hughes on the McLaren Autosport BRDC Award nominee list after claiming second in the standings thanks to a superbly consistent year.

Matthew Graham, who went on to win the first BRDC Formula 4 Winter Championship, Jack Barlow, Ross Gunn and James Fletcher claimed a brace of wins apiece and Pietro Fittipaldi became the 11th different winner by round 13. The 2014 calendar has recently been announced, and drivers are already queuing up to join the championship, hinting that another fantastic season is on its way.

The Champion of Brands proved Kent Formula Fords are still en vogue with a great season. Three-time winner from 2012 Josh Barnett endured a tough year, missing the opening round after breaking his collarbone during the winter before taking his first and only win in round two in July. A dislodged HT lead deprived him of the pole position he secured at round three, and he could only claim third at the final round on the Grand Prix circuit in August.

Oli White capitalised, winning three of the four rounds. He made the most of Barnett's absence in race one to win from returnee Stuart Gough, and then played out a quintessential Formula Ford battle with serial guest racer Scott Malvern at round three. White made it three out of four as part of the Lotus Festival support bill, easing away from Josh Fisher in second.

The Monoposto Championship underlined its importance to the UK's club single seater scene by regularly packing out grids, but it quickly became clear that only bad luck could get in the way of Robbie Watts taking the 2000 class title.

The Essex-based Lola driver missed the opening two races at Donington Park while on F3 Cup duty, but he claimed both wins around the Brands Hatch GP to put him on terms with Donington double winner Adrian Holey. A sixth place followed on the Indy configuration following a spin, allowing Kevan McLurg to take his first win of the season. Watts recovered to win race two and then the opening race at Oulton Park before retiring just yards from the chequered flag in race two. Another two wins followed at Castle Combe before he was caught out by the weather in qualifying at Silverstone. Kevan McLurg again profited by claiming both wins but a blown engine before the final race at Snetterton left Watts the task of simply finishing to claim the title. He took second behind Malcolm Scott at the final race after winning the first to wrap up the crown.

Ben Cater was so dominant in the Classic 2000 class he could afford to sit out half of the season and still claim the title after five wins. Versatile racer Lee Cunningham, Daniel Hands and Daryl Jones all bagged a brace of wins apiece while Dave Gillett, Alistair Bell and Jared Wood also visited the top step. The 1800 class wins were spread around the grid too: Paul Britten claimed four wins and six second places on the way to the title, John Whitbourn picked up five wins in third in the standings, Mark Jackson and Ewan Sergison both won twice and Jonathan Baggott in fourth took the chequered flag on the Brands Hatch GP.

Three-time race winner Marcus Sheard and Matt Hayes in the Zetec class were split by Oulton Park winner Doug McLay in the Zetec class but it was Sheard who came out on top. Ryan Hayes, Dane Catanzaro and Julian Hoskins all won twice in their part campaigns. Adrian Heath dominated the late 1600 class season, picking up five of his six wins in the final six races after David Parkinson had got off to a flyer with two wins. Four wins for Luke Rosewell put him in charge during the middle part of the season before Heath wrestled control. Jason Timms did likewise in the MonoMoto class, winning six of the last seven races after Adrian Wright had claimed four of the first six wins. Wright added a fifth win at the start of Timms' stellar late-season run, while Chris Woodhouse and Dan Clowes were the only others to visit the top step.

Click here to read a full review of the F3 Cup season.

Visit MSVRacing.co.uk to keep up with all the latest MSVR news and follow them on Twitter and Facebook.

Photos courtesy of Jakob Ebrey, Gary Hawkins, Phatphoto and Jonathan Hatfield.



Cob - Gary

Cob - Phat