• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Trackdays
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Oulton's 60th celebrated by superb Gold Cup contests

Monday, August 26 2013

Many eyes were focused on the Super Touring Trophy coming into today (Monday) after an eventful contest on Sunday. Patrick Watts and John Cleland were joined on the grid by Tim Harvey in his old Sierra RS500 as well as the Dodd Honda, yesterday's winning car.

The pack got away cleanly with Dodd immediately pulling away in his Honda with Stewart Whyte and John Cleland in hot pursuit. At the back of the grid, Watts and Harvey also managed to avoid trouble as the pack streamed through Old Hall for the first time.

The majority of the action was in the middle of the pack, as Dodd built himself a commanding advantage at the front. By the end of lap two, Watts was up into sixth position with Harvey right behind him. Watts would eventually place as high as fourth but any podium hopes were dashed as his car began to slow and he dropped behind Harvey before being forced out of the race by a car failure. Cleland was also unfortunate enough to bite the dust, having overtaken Whyte for second.

With Cleland and Watts out of the picture, Tim Harvey was able to finish on the podium behind Dodd and Whyte.

Super Touring Trophy Result

1, James Dodd, Honda Accord, 11 Laps
2, Stewart Whyte, Honda Accord, +15.763s
3, Tim Harvey, Ford Sierra RS500, +26.587s
4, Derek Palmer, Nissan Primera, +31.799s
5, David Jarman, Nissan Primera, +51.391s
6, Max Goff, BMW M3, +52.937

There was high drama in the day's opening race for the F5000s of the Derek Bell Trophy and Classic Formula 3 cars. Pre-race favourite Michael Lyons pulled away at the start and immediately began to build himself a commanding lead. His advantage would be short-lived however when a gearbox error caused him to have a moment, handing the lead to Greg Thornton in his Chevron B24. Shortly afterwards six cars were involved in an incident on the run up to clay hill. Fortunately nobody was hurt, but the race was red flagged with Thornton declared the winner. Lyons made up for his disappointment in the second race of the day, taking a hard fought victory from Thornton.

The Martini Trophy for 1970s sportscars also began in dramatic style, as Sunday's winner Nick Fleming tapped into a spin before the pack even reached the first corner. Martin O'Connell appeared to be the guilty party but led the race until he was forced into retirement by his own damage. The win would eventually go to Graeme Dodd.

We were treated to two Formula Ford races with Nelson Rowe taking a dominant win in the Formula Ford 2000 race. The Historic Formula Ford 1600 contest however was a real thrill to behold, with Callum Grant taking the victory after a race-long scrap with Sam Mitchell.

The Historic Touring Cars are always a highlight and once again they lived up to expectation with the body language of the cars alone sufficing as great entertainment. There was a race however and Mark Jones took the win, leading home an armada of Cortinas from lights to flag. Behind him Tim Davies and Neil Brown entertained the masses with an enthralling scrap for second position, Davies prevailing in the end.

The Classic Racing Cars produced another fine grid of evocative racing cars, Andy Jones winning in his pristine Lotus 59, whilst Steve Jones took the glory in the 500cc Formula 3 race to end the weekend's single-seater action.

The weekend ended with a pair of Sportscar races from the Classic Clubmans and then the 1950s machinery of Fiscar. John Harrison was victorious in the Clubmans whilst Brian Arculus took the Fiscar win in his Lotus Elite.

The next event at Oulton Park will be the BRSCC Club Car Championships on Saturday 31 August. Tickets are available online for £10 and children 12 and under can come in for free. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.