• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • 2020 Tickets on Sale now
  • SpeedFest 8 - Brands Hatch
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Local hero Smith takes overall victory in third Truck encounter

Sunday, April 21 2013

East Malling's Dave Smith has taken overall victory in the third British Truck Racing Championship race of the weekend at Brands Hatch today (Sunday). A delayed Matt Summerfield was unable to make up the deficit after finally working his way through the Division 1 trucks.

Brian Burt made the best start as Smith found himself crowded out. Matt Summerfield also struggled on lap one and struck Dave Jenkins on the run to Graham Hill bend. In the early laps it was advantage to the American-style bonneted trucks as Burt and Oly Janes led their respective classes.

Local runners Graham Powell and Dave Smith ran second and third as the Division 2 trucks sorted themselves out. It looked to be a case of whoever could take advantage first would be in the best position to win, with Smith through to second whilst Summerfield still found himself mired in the midfield.

Smith led the race into lap seven and two laps later Summerfield took advantage of an overlap into Clearways to take up the Division 1 challenge.  With the slower trucks now spreading apart, Summerfield cut through them whilst keeping up a storming pace, however he had a 20 second deficit with just four laps remaining, so it appeared to be an insurmountable task.

Summerfield finally took second place at the end of lap 12 and needed to make up 16 seconds. There was plenty of action behind too as positions changed hands all the time. Jenkins took second in class but still had several trucks between him and rival Summerfield.

Smith ran out the victor, the final margin over Summerfield being 9.7 seconds, with Jenkins grabbing third at the end. A gaggle of Division 1 trucks finished together behind Burt and Frans Smit, as Cees Zandbergen, Luke Taylor, Heinz-Werner Lenz and Steve Thomas just missed out on beating the chasing Division 2 field.

Afterwards Smith said: "The first few laps were pretty hard, so I just had to get away again. We had a bit of a poor start but I couldn't be any happier. Everything's going fine, I couldn't ask for anything more."

British Truck Racing Championship race three
1. David Smith, Foden, Div 2, 15 Laps
2. Matt Summerfield, MAN, Div 1, +9.766s
3. David Jenkins, MAN, Div 1, +22.691s
4. Brian Burt, Volvo, Div 2, +27.150s
5. Frans Smit, Scania, Div 2, +27.341s
6. Cees Zandbergen, Scania, Div 1, +27.462s
7. Luke Taylor, Renault, Div 1, +27.718s
8. Heinz-Werner Lenz, Mercedes, Div 1, +28.553s
9. Steve Thomas, MAN, Div 1, +28.856s
10. Simon Reid, Seddon Atkinson, Div 2, +29.633s

Raceday tickets for The British Truck Racing Championship at Brands Hatch on 21 April are available on the gate from £22, with free entry for children aged 12 and under. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.