• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • 2020 Tickets on Sale now
  • SpeedFest 8 - Brands Hatch
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Jack Barlow fights back to win second F4 race at Silverstone

Sunday, April 28 2013

Jack Barlow has taken victory in the second BRDC Formula 4 Championship race on the Silverstone Grand Prix circuit today (Sunday), securing glory in only his second ever car race. Seb Morris claimed another podium with second for Hillspeed and Mark Godwin Racing's Jake Dalton third.

Barlow led the early stages of the race after making a great start from third place, leading as the field streamed down to Copse corner. Morris also made a strong start from sixth on the grid to go second with Dalton slotting into third. Poleman Diego Menchaca pulled off on the exit of Becketts on the first lap with an apparent technical problem.

Barlow led the first two laps but Morris fought his way past and into the lead on lap three at the Loop.

The top three, constantly operating within a second of each other, had broken away slightly from race one winner Matt Bell, who had made a good start from eighth to run fourth.

But with two laps remaining, Barlow challenged Morris at Becketts and made the move stick at Stowe, and then held a 0.8s lead until the end of the race, aided by Morris defending from Dalton.

Bell claimed fourth, retaining his championship lead from yesterday, with Jake Hughes fifth for Lanan Racing after a strong weekend so far. Matthew Graham finished sixth for Sean Walkinshaw Racing, and also claimed the fastest lap - the quickest race time this weekend - so will start the third race from pole. Reigning Ginetta Junior Champion Charlie Robertson claimed seventh for HHC Motorsport.

There was a thrilling scrap for eighth place, with Struan Moore, Pietro Fittipaldi, and the charging Falco Wauer, who started the race from 19th place, running three abreast across the line starting lap eight. The battle continued through Becketts, with Moore emerging in eighth, Fittipaldi ninth and Wauer 10th, with the order remaining the same until the chequered flag.

The next BRDC F4 race takes place at 15.05 on the Silverstone Grand Prix circuit.

BRDC Formula 4 Championship, Race two result, Silverstone GP:

1. Jack Barlow, SWR Racing, 10 laps
2. Seb Morris, Hillspeed +0.818s
3. Jake Dalton, Mark Godwin Racing, +1.745s
4. Matt Bell, MattRBellRacing, +2.793s
5. Jake Hughes, Lanan Racing, +5.906s
6. Matthew Graham, SWR Racing, +7.332s
7. Charlie Robertson, HHC Motorsport, +8.039s
8. Struan Moore, Hillspeed, +17.196s
9. Pietro Fittipaldi, Mark Godwin Racing, +17.679s
10. Falco Wauer, Team KBS, +20.466s

Click here for the full results.

Click here to visit the Formula 4 website.