• MSV Trackdays
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Dalton wins race 3 as Mark Webber guest stars at Silverstone!

Sunday, April 28 2013

Mark Godwin Racing's Jake Dalton has won the third BRDC F4 race of the weekend this afternoon (Sunday) after another thrilling race on the Grand Prix circuit. He was presented with the race winner's trophy by Red Bull F1 star Mark Webber, who made a special visit to watch the F4 race at Silverstone and meet the teams and drivers.

Hillspeed's Seb Morris and Sean Walkinshaw Racing's Matthew Graham claimed second and third, Graham fending off a gripping four car battle for the final podium place.

Charlie Robertson finished in fourth for HHC Motorsport with race one winner Matt Bell fifth. Race two winner Jack Barlow claimed sixth for Sean Walkinshaw Racing.

Morris' podium finish, his third visit to the rostrum from three races this weekend, means he now leads the championship from Dalton and Bell.

Dalton made another superb start to lead into Copse corner on the first lap, with Morris also making a rapid getaway to move past pole sitter Matthew Graham into second.

Dalton led by almost two seconds after the first lap, having saved his allocation of fresh tyres until the final race. Morris was able to chip away at his lead occasionally but in reality, Dalton's lead was rarely under threat.

That wasn't the case for the battle for third, with Graham, Barlow, Robertson and Bell all firmly engaged in a slipstreaming battle down the long straights of the Silverstone Grand Prix circuit.

Barlow held third place initially, passing team mate Graham into the Arena section on lap two, but Graham fought his way past again moments later. Bell was then tucked right under the rear wing of Robertson coming down the pit straight at the start of lap four, attempting a move up the inside of Copse. Robertson held strong but Barlow then fell behind the both of them.

Barlow forced his way past Bell at Becketts on lap eight, but on the penultimate lap, Bell re-passed to secure fifth place, with Barlow forced to settle for sixth.

Sennan Fielding claimed seventh place for Douglas Motorsport, ahead of Motionsport's Ross Gunn, who has shown good improvement in pace as the weekend went on.

Mexican Diego Menchaca blasted through from last place on the grid to claim an impressive ninth for Mark Godwin Racing with Brazilian Gustavo Lima rounding out the top ten for HHC Motorsport.

F1 star Webber, a double Grand Prix winner at Silverstone, was the star guest for this afternoon's podium ceremony, with the Australian presenting trophies to race three winner Dalton, second-place finisher Morris and Graham in third.

Webber also took the opportunity to meet with all the F4 teams and drivers after the ceremonies were complete.

Speaking afterwards Webber commented: "It's (F4) a great little category and an ideal entry point for young drivers to develop a good feel for slicks and wings with the car moving around. And there's a nice little paddleshift on the steering wheel too!

"You've got to have reliable cars at this level because it's about the youngsters and Ralph Firman is a proven quantity. I never had the joy at that age to drive on the Grand Prix circuit so the drivers are very, very fortunate."

BRDC Formula 4 Championship, Race three result, Silverstone GP:

1. Jake Dalton, Mark Godwin Racing, 10 laps
2. Seb Morris, Hillspeed, +3.176s
3. Matthew Graham, SWR Racing, +9.923s
4. Charlie Robertson, HHC Motorsport, +11.488s
5. Matt Bell, MattRBellRacing, +14.761s
6. Jack Barlow, SWR Racing, +15.586s
7. Sennan Fielding, Douglas Motorsport, +27.529s
8. Ross Gunn, Motionsport, +30.532s
9. Diego Menchaca, Mark Godwin Racing, +33.225s
10. Gustavo Lima, HHC Motorsport, +52.407s

BRDC Formula 4 Championship standings*

1. Seb Morris, Hillspeed, 70pts
2. Jake Dalton, Mark Godwin Racing, 68pts
3. Matt Bell, MattRBellRacing Team E-Lites, 64pts
4. Jack Barlow, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, 60pts
5. Charlie Robertson, HHC Motorsport, 48pts

*provisional standings

 To view the full race results click here. To view the standings after Round 1 click here.

For more information on the BRDC Formula 4 Championship, click here to visit the official website.