• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • 2020 Tickets on Sale now
  • SpeedFest 8 - Brands Hatch
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Privateer Matt Bell claims inaugural BRDC F4 win

Saturday, April 27 2013

Privateer Matt Bell has won the inaugural BRDC Formula 4 race at Silverstone, after an enthralling battle on the Grand Prix circuit. Jake Hughes claimed second for Lanan Racing with Seb Morris third for Hillspeed.

Jake Dalton made a super start from second place on the grid to lead into Copse corner on the first lap, out-dragging pole man Hughes with Bell slotting into third.

The front two initially pulled away, but on lap four, Bell began drawing them back in and he started to put the pair under major pressure.

On lap five, Bell was close enough to attempt a pass on Hughes coming into the Loop and was alongside the Lanan car. Hughes pulled clear though and was in a position to challenge leader Dalton coming into Luffield. Hughes made contact with the back of Dalton's car though, allowing Bell to move into the lead, which he never surrendered, maintaining a gap of over two seconds for the remainder of the race.

Hughes retained second place but Dalton dropped to fourth behind Hillspeed's Seb Morris. Dalton wasn't going to give up without a fight though, and hounded Morris for the remainder of the race, finishing just 0.3s behind at the chequered flag.

Charlie Robertson made up three places on his start position to finish fifth for HHC Motorsport, with Jack Barlow sixth for Sean Walkinshaw Racing and Struan Moore seventh for Hillspeed. The trio were separated by less than a second across the line.

Mexican Diego Menchaca finished eighth for Mark Godwin Racing, and will start tomorrow's reversed-grid opening race from pole position.

Matthew Graham claimed ninth for Sean Walkinshaw Racing whilst Pietro Fittipaldi made up 11 places to finish tenth after starting from the back of the grid following a technical irregularity in qualifying.

Speaking afterwards, Bell enthused: "That was great, no-one else can say they won the first F4 race! It's a long race, I perhaps lacked pace early on but I closed back to them [Hughes and Dalton] and they were battling away and had a collision. After that it was just a case of maintaining the gap and I could have gone faster if I needed to."

BRDC Formula 4 Championship, Race one result, Silverstone GP:

1. Matt Bell, MattRBellRacing Team E-Lites, 10 laps
2. Jake Hughes, Lanan Racing, +1.346s
3. Seb Morris, Hillspeed, +2.565s
4. Jake Dalton, Mark Godwin Racing, +2.880s
5. Charlie Robertson, HHC Motorsport, +11.237s
6. Jack Barlow, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +11.499s
7. Struan Moore, Hillspeed, +11.969s
8. Diego Menchaca, Mark Godwin Racing, +16.770s
9. Matthew Graham, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +19.803s
10. Pietro Fittipaldi, Mark Godwin Racing, +20.539s

For the full results click here.