• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Brands Hatch set for epic BSB season Showdown

Sunday, September 25 2011

The Brands Hatch Grand Prix circuit is set to host a barnstorming season finale of the 2011 MCE British Superbike Championship on 7-9 October, with the title race guaranteed to go down to the wire after two electrifying races at Silverstone last weekend.

The championship race is perfectly poised after John Hopkins and Josh Brookes secured a win apiece at the penultimate round, meaning the American maintained his slim advantage at the top of the standings. Swan Yamaha's Tommy Hill trails by just eight points ahead of the triple-header finale - at his home event and at a circuit he loves.

Brookes' win promoted him to third in the standings with Shane 'Shakey' Byrne and Michael Laverty now joint fourth as the Title Fighters prepare for the final three races of the Showdown. Any of five riders still have a chance of winning the 2011 championship with only Ryuichi Kiyonari out of the running.

The two Fuchs Silkolene British Supersport Championship races also produced drama as Alastair Seeley and Ben Wilson clashed again in the first race; Wilson crashed out leaving Seeley to close the gap from 36 to eleven points. In the second race Seeley and Wilson renewed their rivalry and again fought throughout the early stages, but with just one lap remaining the Gearlink Kawasaki rider suffered a technical problem - leaving Seeley to lead the standings by 14 points. The title will be decided following the triple-header at Brands Hatch.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship standings ahead of Brands Hatch season finale:

  1. John Hopkins (Samsung Crescent Racing Suzuki) 609
  2. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) 601
  3. Josh Brookes (Relentless Suzuki by TAS) 568
  4. Shane Byrne (HM Plant Honda) 565
  5. Michael Laverty (Swan Yamaha) 565
  6. Ryuichi Kiyonari (HM Plant Honda) 521

Fuchs Silkolene British Supersport Championship standings after Silverstone:

  1. Alastair Seeley (Relentless Suzuki by TAS) 405
  2. Ben Wilson (Gearlink Kawasaki) 391
  3. Billy McConnell (Oxford TAG Triumph) 220
  4. Paul Young (Oxford TAG Triumph) 208
  5. Sam Warren (Bike Interceptor Yamaha by Seton Tuning) 167

With 75 points up for grabs in both the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship and Fuchs-Silkolene British Supersport Championship, don't miss the BSB Showdown decider at Brands Hatch - book now!