• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • 2020 Tickets on Sale now
  • SpeedFest 8 - Brands Hatch
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Hegewald sets the pace in Barcelona

Friday, October 28 2011

Tobias Hegewald was the pace-setter during today's (Friday) second FIA Formula Two free practice session in Barcelona - 0.286s ahead of his nearest rival.

The 22-year-old German set his best time of 1:38.333s early in the session and remained on top throughout. Mirko Bortolotti finished second quickest with Romanian Mihai Marinescu in third.

Following this morning's downpour, drivers enjoyed dry conditions for the 45-minute session with Christopher Zanella setting the early benchmark lapping in the 1 min 39s. Hegewald, Marinescu and Bortolotti all looked quick just behind him before an interruption for a red flag caused by Plamen Kralev.

After the restart it was Hegewald who set the pace moving into the 1min 38s and closing in on Miki Monras' best time from yesterday's test. Monras himself was again looking quick along with Brit Jack Clarke and Mikkel Mac.

With 15 minutes remaining, most of the field pitted to make final adjustments before returning to the 4.655km circuit but it was the German racer who continued to lead the way.

Bortolotti then moved into second, 0.286s behind the 22-year-old with Zanella, Marinescu and Monras following closely behind.

At the chequered flag, no one was able to better Hegewald's time leaving Bortolotti and Marinescu in third with Zanella in fourth and Monras fifth. Clarke secured P6 for the session ahead of Dane Mac and Dutchman Kelvin Snoeks. Parthiva Sureshwaren produced his best ever practice result to end ninth quickest with returning local driver Jose Luis Abadin completing the top 10.

The weekend's first qualifying session gets underway tomorrow (Saturday) at 10:25 (local time) with full coverage on the official F2 website.

Barcelona, free practice two results:

1. Tobias Hegewald, 1:38.333s
2. Mirko Bortolotti, +0.286s
3. Mihai Marinescu, +0.638s
4. Christopher Zanella, +0.684s
5. Miki Monras, +1.229s
6. Jack Clarke, +1.520s
7. Mikkel Mac, +1.580s
8. Kelvin Snoeks, +1.620s
9. Parthiva Sureshwaren, +2.074s
10. Jose Luis Abadin, +2.096s