• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Leo Voyazides takes a second World Sportscar Masters victory

Monday, May 30 2011

Leo Voyazides added a second World Sportscar Masters victory to his Sunday win but Michael Lyons came close to adding this race to his Grand Prix Masters haul.

Lyons took the lead at Graham Hill on the first lap after the rolling start, with Steve Tandy slotting into second place. Voyazides held third from Roger Wills, showing no signs of fatigue from his near-successful attempt to compete in every race.

As the three leading Lola T70s began to pull away from the rest, Wills' McLaren M1C and Justin Maeers' Lola T70 kept each other company. Their battle for fourth became a fight for the podium when Tandy pulled into the pitlane with troubles and remained there for the duration of the race.

With the battles for first and second then third and fourth remaining close but static, the main focus of the race became an exciting fight for fifth. The Andrew Middleton Taydec was locked in a fierce tussle with the Martin Angle Chevron B16 and Roberto Farneti's Chevron B16.

As the clouds gathered and threatened rain that thankfully never came, the fight became ever more intense. Time and again the cars lapped the Grand Prix circuit within inches of each other and if something was going to give, it did with mere moments of the race to spare. Angle ended up beached in the Clearways gravel and with the car deemed to be in a dangerous position, the red flag was shown.

By this point the race leader was also off the track. Lyons must have been kicking himself as his car sat in the gravel at Sheene Curve, leaving Voyazides to take a second victory. Wills was ecstatic to end his marathon weekend on the podium in the runners up spot as Maeers completed the trio.

World Sportscar Masters classification

1. Leo Voyazides, Lola T70, 16 Laps
2. Roger Wills, McLaren M1C, +23.854s
3. Justin Maeers, Lola T70, +28.196s
4. Michael Lyons, Lola T70, +1 Lap
5. Andrew Middleton, Taydec, +1 Lap
6. Roberto Farneti, Chevron B16, +1 Lap
7. Jeremy Cottingham, Chevron B8, +1 Lap
8. Will Schryver, Chevron B6, +1 Lap
9. Jamie Boot, Chevron B16, +1 Lap
10. Georg Kjallgren, Daren, +1 Lap

The next major Historic event at Brands Hatch is the HSCC Superprix featuring the FIA Historic Formula One Championship on July 1-3. Tickets cost from £17 for adults, with free entry for children aged 12 and under. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click on the link below.