• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Leo Voyazides clinches World Sportscar Masters victory

Sunday, May 29 2011

Leo Voyazides continued his qualifying form to secure victory in the weekend's opening World Sportscar Masters race at Brands Hatch today (Sunday).

The Lola T70 driver consistently pulled away at the front, and claimed the win by almost six seconds from Steve Tandy in second and Michael Lyons third, completing an all Lola T70 podium.

Voyazides lead from pole, but it was Roger Wills in the McLaren M1B who made the best progress, moving from fifth on the grid to second place by the end of the first lap.

Voyazides though was lapping quicker, and had a lead of almost three seconds by the end of lap three. Meanwhile, Steve Tandy's T70, who Wills passed for second on the opening lap, was threatening Wills, and was just half a second behind the New Zealander at the end of lap four.

A move was inevitable, and Tandy forced his way past into Paddock Hill Bend at the start of lap six. But Tandy was over-exuberant and Wills re-passed, with Tandy having to look in his mirrors to fend off Shaun Lynn's Lola T70. However, both Tandy and Lynn made their way past Wills again later in the lap, with Lynn trying to go round the outside of Tandy on the approach to Druids. Tandy held him off and set his sights on closing Voyazides' lead.

Lynn's progress was to be short lived, as he forfeited third on lap nine, falling to fifth behind Wills and Michael Lyons' Lola T70, before pulling out of the race on lap 11. Will Schryver in the Bonnier class-leading Chevron B6 was also forced to retire on lap 12, pulling into the pits with mechanical issues.

Lyons then passed Wills for third, and it appeared Wills was nursing the McLaren and was falling into the clutches of Justin Maeers' T70.

But the race was brought to a premature halt when Tony Crudgington's Chevrolet Corvette rolled at Paddock Hill Bend on the 16th lap, but emerged unharmed.

World Sportscar Masters race one results
1. Leo Voyazides, Lola T70 Mk3b, 15 Laps
2. Steve Tandy, Lola T70 Mk3b, +6.362s
3. Michael Lyons/Frank Lyons, Lola T70, +12.205s
4. Roger Wills, McLaren M1B, +29.243s
5. Justin Maeers, Lola T70 Mk3b, +32.936s
6. Marin Angle/Hugh Angle, Chevron B16, +33.529s
7. Roberto Farneti, Chevron B16, +1:00.774s
8. Gregoire Audi, Lola T212, +1:11.860s
9. Andrew Middleton, Taydec MK3, +1:13.071s
10. Jamie Boot, Chevron B16, +1:13.924s

Tickets for the Masters Historic Festival at Brands Hatch are available on the gate for £21 on Bank Holiday Monday with free entry for children aged 12 and under. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click on the link below.