• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • 2020 Tickets on Sale now
  • SpeedFest 8 - Brands Hatch
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Hill wins as Brookes and Kiyo confirmed in the Showdown

Monday, August 29 2011

Swan Yamaha's Tommy Hill doubled up on victories at Cadwell Park this afternoon as he held off the challenges from his title rivals as Josh Brookes and Ryuichi Kiyonari confirmed their positions as Title Fighters in the Showdown.

Michael Laverty took the lead off the line on the opening lap from Shane 'Shakey' Byrne who made a determined move at Park on the first lap to take the advantage on the HM Plant Honda.  Brookes was tucked in to third with Hill fourth as the pack streamed over the line for the first time.

Hill was determined to make a move on his team-mate and despite several attempts to pass at Barn it wasn't until the eighth lap he was able to pass before his Swan Yamaha team-mate stole the position back before the start line.  Laverty held the lead until the tenth lap when Hill made another move at Barn corner and made it stick before he edged out a minor advantage over the field.

Laverty then was defending hard from Brookes but a mistake at Mansfield on the twelfth lap gave the Relentless Suzuki by TAS rider the chance and he stormed ahead, with the Swan Yamaha rider maintaining third position.

Byrne took fourth place and now sits second in the overall standings ahead of the Showdown whilst Ryuichi Kiyonari finished seventh to claim his position with Brookes as a Title Fighter. Peter Hickman again had a strong finish in fifth whilst Jon Kirkham finished sixth which left him outside the top six ahead of the Showdown.

Martin Jessopp had his second top ten finish of the day on the Rapid Solicitors-Bathams Ducati ahead of Graeme Gowland who took his second Mirror.co.uk BSB Evo win of the day with James Ellison completing the top ten on the Sorrymate.com Honda.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Cadwell Park, race three result:

  1. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha)
  2. Josh Brookes (Relentless Suzuki by TAS) +0.632s
  3. Michael Laverty (Swan Yamaha) +1.582s
  4. Shane Byrne (HM Plant Honda) +2.013s
  5. Peter Hickman (Tyco Honda) +2.664s
  6. Jon Kirkham (Samsung Crescent Racing Suzuki) +3.622s
  7. Ryuichi Kiyonari (HM Plant Honda) +8.039s
  8. Martin Jessopp (Rapid Solicitors-Bathams Ducati) +17.537s
  9. Graeme Gowland (WFR Honda) +18.386s
  10. James Ellison (Sorrymate.com Honda) +20.465s

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship standings after Cadwell Park ahead of the Showdown:

  1. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) 529
  2. Shane Byrne (HM Plant Honda) 522
  3. John Hopkins (Samsung Crescent Racing Suzuki) 518
  4. Michael Laverty (Swan Yamaha) 510
  5. Josh Brookes (Relentless Suzuki by TAS) 509
  6. Ryuichi Kiyonari (HM Plant Honda) 508