• British GT-F3 - Donington Park
  • British Truck Racing - Snetterton
  • Ford Power Live - Brands Hatch
  • MSV Trackdays
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Hill leads warm up despite crash ahead of local Lowes

Monday, August 29 2011

Swan Yamaha's Tommy Hill led this morning's warm up session at Cadwell Park despite a crash ahead of this afternoon's two critical MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship races that will decide the final two Title Fighters in the Showdown.

The session again was frantic as Peter Hickman set the initial pace on the Tyco Honda ahead of his first front row start of the season in the second race of the weekend later today. Hill then took the advantage at the top of the times but with four minutes remaining he crashed out at the Gooseneck unhurt and was able to return to the garage as Alex Lowes on the leading MSS Colchester Kawasaki continued to close.

Hickman maintained his position near the front as he ended the session third fastest from Samsung Crescent Racing Suzuki's Jon Kirkham who is bidding for a place in the Showdown in the two races today. He edged out HM Plant Honda's Shane 'Shakey' Byrne who was fifth fastest and he moved up the order in the final minutes to go ahead of the Relentless Suzuki by TAS of Josh Brookes with Ryuichi Kiyonari close behind in seventh.

Motorpoint Yamaha's Tommy Bridewell continued to make progress in eighth ahead of the pole sitter for today's second race Michael Laverty on the second Swan Yamaha with Gary Mason completing the top ten as he also prepares to challenge for the top six later today. Graeme Gowland was the leading Mirror.co.uk BSB Evo rider in eleventh.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Cadwell Park, warm up result:

  1. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) 1m:27.690s
  2. Alex Lowes (MSS Colchester Kawasaki) +0.307s
  3. Peter Hickman (Tyco Honda) +0.398s
  4. Jon Kirkham (Samsung Crescent Racing Suzuki) +0.404s
  5. Shane Byrne (HM Plant Honda) +0.623s
  6. Josh Brookes (Relentless Suzuki by TAS) +0.764s
  7. Ryuichi Kiyonari (HM Plant Honda) +0.818s
  8. Tommy Bridewell (Motorpoint Yamaha) +0.873s
  9. Michael Laverty (Swan Yamaha) +0.956s
  10. Gary Mason (MSS Colchester Kawasaki) +1.006s