• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • 2020 Tickets on Sale now
  • SpeedFest 8 - Brands Hatch
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Byrne snatches top spot from Brookes as Kiyo crashes

Saturday, August 27 2011

HM Plant Honda's Shane 'Shakey' Byrne ended the second free practice session at Cadwell Park this afternoon fastest after toppling Josh Brookes from the top of the times in the final seconds as the track dried and the conditions improved.

In the early stages of the session several riders took to the circuit, with Michael Laverty leading the way with 30 minutes remaining on the Swan Yamaha from Ryuichi Kiyonari and Glen Richards on the WFR Honda.

Gary Mason then went ahead on the MSS Colchester Kawasaki with just under 20 minutes remaining of the session as the times began to tumble as the track dried out. It was the final ten minutes that there was a frantic activity on track as the majority of the riders ventured out with Josh Brookes then charging to the top of the times and improving his lap time consistently on the Relentless Suzuki by TAS.

There was also drama for HM Plant Honda as Kiyonari crashed at the top of the Mountain with four minutes remaining of the session, he was unhurt but with major improvements in the final stages he dropped to ninth.

Brookes maintained his position until the final seconds of the session as Byrne then stormed ahead to move fastest at the HM Plant Honda team's home track. Mason maintained his third position as Michael Rutter who is fighting for a top six position this weekend was fourth ahead of Chris Walker.

Tommy Hill on the leading Swan Yamaha was sixth ahead of an improving James Ellison in seventh whilst Laverty dropped to eighth in the final minutes. Patric Muff meanwhile outpaced his WFR Honda rivals to be the fastest Mirror.co.uk BSB Evo rider on circuit in tenth on the Tyco Honda.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Cadwell Park, free practice two:

  1. Shane Byrne (HM Plant Honda) 1m:34.625s
  2. Josh Brookes (Relentless Suzuki by TAS) +0.281s
  3. Gary Mason (MSS Colchester Kawasaki) +1.021s
  4. Michael Rutter (Rapid Solicitors-Bathams Ducati) +1.235s
  5. Chris Walker (Pr1mo Racing Kawasaki) +2.569s
  6. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) +2.681s
  7. James Ellison (Sorrymate.com Honda) +3.214s
  8. Michael Laverty (Swan Yamaha) +4.055s
  9. Ryuichi Kiyonari (HM Plant Honda) +4.857s
  10. Patric Muff (Tyco Honda) +5.619s

Tickets for the August Bank Holiday round of the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship at Cadwell Park cost £30 on Bank Holiday's Monday race day and £15 on qualifying day (Sunday). For more information and to book visitwww.cadwellpark.co.uk or call 0843 453 9000.