• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Trackdays
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Hill climbs back to the top ahead of Laverty and Brookes

Saturday, April 30 2011

Tommy Hill fired himself back to the top of the times in the second free practice session at Oulton Park this afternoon as the Swan Yamaha rider set the pace ahead of his team-mate Michael Laverty and Josh Brookes.

Gary Mason led the session for the MSS Colchester Kawasaki team in the early stages before Laverty took the top spot a few minutes later for Swan Yamaha. However it was another short spell as the fastest rider on circuit as Stuart Easton then fired his MSS Colchester Kawasaki to the top.

The session was then briefly red flagged with just under 30 minutes remaining as PR Kawasaki's Simon Andrews and Tommy Bridewell crashed at Knickerbrook and Brittens respectively with both riders unhurt. Jenny Tinmouth was another rider who had her session shortened when she crashed at Lodge.

Hill held his advantage from Easton and then Josh Brookes who had moved up to third in the final 20 minutes of the session after he topped the opening free practice this morning. Loris Baz was also a rider to leap up the times in the closing stages as the Motorpoint Yamaha rider went fourth fastest ahead of Easton and Mason.

Jon Kirkham was the fastest of the Samsung Crescent Racing riders in seventh, whilst John Hopkins continued to get to grips with the circuit in 13th. Ryuichi Kiyonari was eighth fastest after he suffered a technical problem in the final stages of the session, but was still ahead of team-mate Shane 'Shakey' Byrne whilst Peter Hickman rounded out the top ten. Alex Lowes was again the fastest of the Mirror.co.uk BSB Evo riders in 15th.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Oulton Park, free practice two result:

1. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) 1m:35.682s
2. Michael Laverty (Swan Yamaha) +0.700s
3. Josh Brookes (Relentless Suzuki) +0.922s
4. Loris Baz (Motorpoint Yamaha) +0.981s
5. Stuart Easton (MSS Colchester Kawasaki) +1.049s
6. Gary Mason (MSS Colchester Kawasaki) +1.227s
7. Jon Kirkham (Samsung Crescent Racing) +1.364s
8. Ryuichi Kiyonari (HM Plant Honda) +1.468s
9. Shane Byrne (HM Plant Honda) +1.493s
10. Peter Hickman (Tyco Honda) +1.596s

You can purchase tickets for the Oulton Park round of the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship this weekend on the gate with adult admission £12 on Sunday and £30 on Monday, children 12 and under go free. For further ticket information click the link below or call 0843 453 9000.