• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Stuart Oliver wins British Truck Racing Championship season finale

Sunday, October 31 2010

2010 Delphi British Truck Racing Champion Stuart Oliver clinched an emphatic victory in the final point-scoring race of the season at Brands Hatch on Sunday, ahead of a tense three-way battle for the remaining podium positions.

Oliver led from lights to flag to reinforce the dominant manner in which he has secured this year's trophy - his tenth in British Truck Racing.

The battle for second and third was extremely close with a three way fight between the MANs of Matt Summerfield and Ricky Collett and David Jenkins' Sisu.

The trio went nose-to-tail several times, but Summerfield gallantly defended his second place throughout the ten lap encounter despite intense pressure from behind. Collett held onto third until lap five when he ran wide through the gravel at Clearways and Jenkins was able to snatch position from his rival.

Roger Brookfield secured fifth position initially, however he was later disqualified for a technical infringement. This promoted Ben Horne's Volvo into fifth position. Horne also took overall Class B honours after 2010 champion Graham Powell spun at Graham Hill Bend on the opening lap. After rejoining at the back of the field, Powell then went off into the gravel at Clearways and was forced into retirement.

Graham's brother Steven Powell clinched Class B second place ahead of Carl Brookfield, son of Roger. British Truck Racing debutant Frank Wrathall secured fourth in class and eighth overall, whilst Luke Taylors ERF finished ninth.

Jim Bennett's Seddon Atkinson was classified tenth after being awarded a five second post-race penalty for not respecting track limits.

Graham Powell was not the only driver whose race ended in the gravel trap, as Oscar Clark ran straight into the tyre wall at Druids on lap three. There were also spins at Graham Hill Bend for David Smith and Trevor Martin, although both were able to recover.

The British Trucks will return to the track at 4.05pm for a non-championship Grand Final, featuring a reverse grid.

Delphi British Truck Racing Championship, Brands Hatch, final:
1. Stuart Oliver (MAN TGS), 10 laps
2. Matt Summerfield (MAN ECT), +9.743s
3. Richard Collett (MAN TGA), +11.260s
4. David Jenkins (Sisu), +15.784s
5. Steven Powell (Ford Cargo), +43.122s
6. Carl Brookfield (ERF E14), +50.097s
7. Ben Horne (Volvo White Aerodyne), +51.436s
8. Frank Wrathall (Sisu SL250), +53.420s
9. Luke Taylor (ERF E14), +1m06.969s
10. Jim Bennett (Seddon Atkinson), +1m08.599s

The next event at Brands Hatch is the Lotus 1000km endurance race on Saturday 6 November. Tickets are now available from £10 for adults, with free entry for children aged 12 and under. For more information call 0870 950 9000 or click on the link below.