• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • 2020 Tickets on Sale now
  • SpeedFest 8 - Brands Hatch
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Charging Bill Coombs Tyrrell 009 takes Grand Prix Masters victory

Sunday, May 30 2010

Bill Coombs charged through from ninth on the grid to secure an impressive victory in his 1979 Tyrrell 009 in the first Grand Prix Masters outing at the Brands Hatch Masters Historic Festival on Sunday

Coombs qualified down the order after losing third gear during qualifying on Sunday morning, but he made up a place even before the race started after pole-sitter Rob Austin's Surtees TS29 suffered an overheated clutch on the grid and was forced to retire on the formation lap.

It was the front row starting Williams FW05 of Roger Wills that took the lead initially from Manfredo Rossi's Brabham BT42, as Coombs made a stunning start to climb up to third place by the end of the second lap.

Tyrrell driver Coombs then scythed past Rossi for second position, before his Italian rival dropped further down the order after his Brabham was unable to keep pace with the other front-running cars . Rossi ultimately finished in fifth position

Richard Barber's Fittipaldi F5A and John Grant's Shadow DN9A enjoyed a close battle for fourth position early on, the former gaining the advantage. Barber then secured third position after Rossi began to drop down the order, until mechanical problems caused him to slow and retire shortly afterwards. This promoted Grant to the final podium spot.

Nico Bindels' Lotus 87B crossed the line in fourth position, with Richard Meins' McLaren M23 finishing behind Rossi in sixth place.

There was a three way battle for seventh between David Coplowe's Lotus 87, Rick Hall's Matra MS120C and Frank Lyons' Osella FA1, with Coplowe eventually taking the position. Ian Simmonds rounded out the top ten in his Tyrrell 012.

The next Grand Prix Masters race takes place today (Bank Holiday Monday) at 1.35pm.

Grand Prix Masters, Brands Hatch GP, Race one result:
1. Bill Coombs (Tyrrell 009), 18 laps
2. Roger Wills (Williams FW05), +2.665s
3. John Grant (Shadow DN5A), +24.908s
4. Nico Bindels (Lotus 87B), +25.445s
5. Manfredo Rossi di Montelera (Brabham BT42), +57.071s
6. Richard Meins (McLaren M23/4, +59.207s
7. David Coplowe (Lotus 87), +1m06.932s
8. Rick Hall (Matra MS120C), +1 lap
9. Frank Lyons (Osella FA1), +1 lap
10. Ian Simmonds (Tyrrell 012), +1 lap

Tickets for the Masters Historic Festival on the Brands Hatch Grand Prix circuit today are available on the gate from £21 for adults, with free entry for children aged 12 and under. For more information call 0870 950 9000 or click on the link below.