• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Shane Brereton heads titanic truck tussle in race four

Sunday, September 11 2016

Shane Brereton won the fourth British Truck Racing Championship round of the weekend at Snetterton today (Sunday), whilst behind an epic battle for second was eventually claimed by race two winner David Jenkins.

The race followed a grid walk open to all spectators, which proved hugely popular. Once the grid was cleared, the trucks set off on their parade lap ahead of the rolling start.

Brereton grabbed an early lead on the opening lap, demoting polesitter Luke Garrett, whilst fellow front row man Oly Janes dropped to the back off the rolling start. Mat Summerfield was also on the move, up to second early on ahead of David Jenkins.

In Division Two, Adam Bint got himself into a useful second on the opening lap and attacked Paul McCumisky for the lead, with John Powell ready to pick up the pieces if anything was to go wrong. However, Bint was forced to pit with a smoky engine, rejoining the race but losing ground to Powell, who took his third class victory of the weekend.

At the front of the order, Brereton was keeping Summerfield away from reach, and the reigning champion soon had his mirrors full of old rival Jenkins and a fast-progressing Ryan Smith. On lap four, Jenkins got alongside out of Agostini and in his attempt to keep Smith at bay, ran off the circuit and fell down the order.

With Summerfield out of contention, Steve Thomas took up position in the three-way fight, and demoted Smith at Agostini. Stuart Oliver then joined in, and an increasingly fraught battle circulated the track in the final laps of the race. Jenkins' defensive tactics proved to be finely-honed and he was wise to many of Thomas's attacks, whilst an attacking Smith kept the third-place man busy.

Whilst the focus was on the fight for second, Brereton claimed the win by more than five seconds, and after several laps watching his mirrors, Jenkins held onto second place from Thomas, Smith and Oliver. Summerfield finished in sixth place, ahead of Simon Reid, Michael Oliver, Steven Powell and Luke Garrett.

The final truck race of the weekend will take place at 5:50pm.

British Truck Racing Championship Race Four
1, Shane Brereton, MAN, Div 1, 7 Laps
2, David Jenkins, MAN, Div 1, +5.524s
3, Steven Thomas, MAN, Div 1, +5.893s
4, Ryan Smith, MAN, Div 1, +6.290s
5, Stuart Oliver, Volvo, Div 1, +8.096s
6, Mat Summerfield, MAN, Div 1, +20.930s
7, Simon Reid, Iveco Stralis, Div 1, +24.573s
8, Michael Oliver, Scania, Div 1, +32.742s
9, Steven Powell, MAN, Div 1, +32.936s
10, Luke Garrett, Renault, Div 1, +40.324s

The next major event at Snetterton will be Retro Kings on Sunday 25 September. Tickets are available for £13 in advance, with free entry for under-13s. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.