• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
David Jenkins holds off Shane Brereton to win at Snetterton

Sunday, September 11 2016

David Jenkins won the second British Truck Racing Championship encounter of the weekend at Snetterton today (Sunday), just holding off Shane Brereton, having inheriting the lead after Oly Janes suffered a mechanical issue.

Janes led the field at the reverse-grid start, with Jenkins taking up second place, but there was drama further back as Ryan Smith and Michael Oliver were stranded at Agostini. This brought out the red flag, and a restart was required.

At the restart, Janes got off to another flyer, leaving Luke Garrett trailing, whilst Jenkins was again the man on the move, as pitlane starter Smith worked his way onto the back of the Division 1 machines. He headed the Division 2 trucks, led by Adam Bint, whilst title rival John Powell was a fair way behind in second.

Despite Jenkins taking second, Janes was pulling ahead in the lead of the race, whilst Brereton, Mat Summerfield and Stuart Oliver worked their way past Garrett. Then just as Janes looked to be on for his first win of the year, he was quickly caught by Jenkins, and as the 2011 champion passed into Murrays, Janes pulled into the pitlane, his truck down on boost.

Jenkins held on to win the race, but only just, as Brereton caught him on the final lap, losing out by a mere half-second. It was a nervous moment for Jenkins into Murrays, with his rival pulling out of the slipstream on the Senna Striaght.

Summerfield grabbed the final podium place, useful for keeping his title aspirations alive on a day when Smith could only salvage sixth behind Steve Thomas, and title rival Oliver.

In Division 2, Bint took an easy win from Paul McCumisky, with John Bowler third in class and Powell only fourth. However, like Smith in Division 1, this gives him a useful grid position for the third race of the weekend, due to take place at 11:20am.

British Truck Racing Championship Race Two
1, David Jenkins, MAN, Div 1, 4 Laps (after restart)
2, Shane Brereton, MAN, Div 1, +0.432s
3, Mat Summerfield, MAN, Div 1, +7.142s
4, Steven Thomas, MAN, Div 1, +8.617s
5, Stuart Oliver, Volvo, Div 1, +8.682s
6, Ryan Smith, MAN, Div 1, +12.615s
7, Luke Garrett, Renault, Div 1, +13.227s
8, Simon Reid, Iveco Stralis, Div 1, +19.213s
9, Steven Powell, MAN, Div 1, +25.676s
10, Adam Bint, Volvo, Div 2, +38.980s 

Tickets for the British Truck Racing Championship at Snetterton on 10/11 September are available for £15 on Saturday and £24 on Sunday, with free entry for under-13s. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.