• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Ryan Smith takes truck pole at Snetterton

Saturday, September 10 2016

British Truck Racing Championship leader Ryan Smith beat reigning champion Mat Summerfield to pole position at Snetterton this morning (Saturday), ahead of the first of this weekend's five races.

Smith slid his way to the top of the timesheets on a slippery 300 circuit, heading Summerfield by just over two tenths of a second. The pair held a decent advantage over the rest, led by Stuart Oliver, however the ten-time champion was a second-and-a-half away from pole position.

Steven Thomas was over two seconds behind Oliver as the drivers acclimatised to the conditions, with Oliver's team-mates Shane Brereton and Michael Oliver next up. David Jenkins and Simon Reid completed a Division One top eight, ahead of Division Two class leader Paul McCumisky, who was almost a second quicker than category leader Adam Bint. Two places further back was his main rival John Powell, sat behind the Division One machine of Luke Garrett.

The opening truck race of the weekend will take place at 1:00pm today.

British Truck Racing Championship Qualifying
1, Ryan Smith, MAN, Div 1, 2:49.136s
2, Mat Summerfield, MAN, Div 1, +0.233s
3, Stuart Oliver, Volvo, Div 1, +1.519s
4, Steven Thomas, MAN, Div 1, +3.279s
5, Shane Brereton, MAN, Div 1, +4.025s
6, Michael Oliver, Scania, Div 1, +5.812s
7, David Jenkins, MAN, Div 1, +6.412s
8, Simon Reid, Iveco Stralis, Div 1, +11.100s
9, Paul McCumisky, Volvo, Div 1, +14.235s
10, Adam Bint, Volvo, Div 2, +15.174s

Tickets for the British Truck Racing Championship at Snetterton on 10/11 September are available for £15 on Saturday and £24 on Sunday, with free entry for under-13s. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.