• MSV Trackdays
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Laverty claims first 2015 win as Brookes crashes out

Sunday, October 18 2015

Michael Laverty claimed his first win of the season in the final race of the 2015 MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship season for Tyco BMW, fighting off the challenges from James Ellison and Shane 'Shakey' Byrne. Newly crowned champion Josh Brookes was pushing hard to seal a clean sweep of Showdown wins but crashed out on the eighth lap.

John Hopkins had hit the lead on the opening lap from Byrne and Laverty with Brookes back in seventh, but fighting through the pack over the opening laps. On the second lap Byrne had hit the front of the field but Laverty was pushing for a move and the Tyco BMW rider made a lunge at Druids only to run slightly wide giving Byrne the chance he needed to cut back ahead.

Ellison was determined to return to the podium in the final race of the season and he moved up to second on lap three and then went for a move on Byrne at Graham Hill Bend, but he responded instantly and moved back ahead before Surtees.

Byrne was holding the lead but Ellison was pushing for the lead, making a move down the inside at Paddock Hill Bend, but again the PBM Kawasaki rider was attacking with a move at Druids. As Byrne moved ahead Ellison was sat up which dropped the JG Speedfit Kawasaki rider to third as Laverty took advantage of the gap.

Brookes had moved up to second but there was drama for the Milwaukee Yamaha rider when he caught the curb at Graham Hill Bend which saw him crash out unhurt - his first non-finish of an incredible campaign.

Laverty held the lead from Byrne and Ellison with the trio trading blows for the podium positions; Byrne had moved to the front of the trio Clearways, but Laverty had reclaimed the advantage by Paddock Hill Bend.

Laverty was able to fend the pair off to the finish to claim his first win of the season for Tyco BMW whilst Ellison and Byrne battling for second right to the line. Dan Linfoot claimed fourth place from Christian Iddon and Luke Mossey, who sealed the Riders Cup title.

Danny Buchan held off Hopkins for seventh place on the second PBM Kawasaki whilst Jakub Smrz and Howie Mainwaring completed the top ten.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Brands Hatch, race three result:

1: Michael Laverty (Tyco BMW)
2: James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +0.237s
3: Shane Byrne (PBM Kawasaki) +0.419s
4: Dan Linfoot (Honda Racing) +2.087s
5: Christian Iddon (Bennetts Suzuki) +2.547s
6: Luke Mossey (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) +2.710s
7: Danny Buchan (PBM Kawasaki) +2.735s
8: John Hopkins (Lloyds British Moto Rapido Ducati) +3.166s
9: Jakub Smrz (Milwaukee Yamaha) +3.470s
10: Howie Mainwaring (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) +5.274s

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship standings:

1: Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) 703
2: Shane Byrne (PBM Kawasaki) 662
3: James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) 614
4: Michael Laverty (Tyco BMW) 601
5: Dan Linfoot (Honda Racing) 556
6: Tommy Bridewell (Tyco BMW) 545

The MCE British Superbike Championship season finale takes place at Brands Hatch 16-18 October 2015. For more information please click here, or call 0843 453 9000.