• MSV Trackdays
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Brookes claims his first pole position of the season

Saturday, October 19 2013

Tyco Suzuki's Josh Brookes claimed his first pole position of the 2013 MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship season at the Brands Hatch finale this afternoon as he mastered the wet conditions to outpace title rivals Shane 'Shakey' Byrne and Alex Lowes.

Brookes was straight out and on the pace in Q3 and the Tyco Suzuki rider nailed his laps early but maintained a consistent run to put himself at the top of the times and Byrne and Lowes moved up the order at the end of the session, but couldn't topple the Australian.

The conditions produced one of the most dramatic Datatag Extreme qualifying sessions of the season with several riders missing out; the Milwaukee Yamaha team had a disaster as Tommy Bridewell and James Ellison will start fourteenth and sixteenth respectively after missing out on the final Q3 session. As some riders struggled, others were able to take advantage and the Halsall Racing Kawasaki team had their strongest performance of the season with Josh Waters claiming fourth and Lee Costello starting sixth for race one.

Karl Harris and the PR Racing Kawasaki team also took advantage of the conditions with the 'Bomber' starting on the second row in fifth position after running near the top of the times in Q2. Dan Linfoot was another rider to record his best qualifying performance of the season as the Lloyds British GBmoto Honda team claimed seventh position ahead of James Westmoreland on the leading Buildbase BMW. PJ Jacobsen was ninth on the second of the Tyco Suzukis and Matteo Baiocco again showed the improvement of his Rapido Sport Racing Ducati Panigale by completing the top ten.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Brands Hatch, Datatag Extreme Qualifying:

  1. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) 1m:37.078s
  2. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +0.447s
  3. Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda) +0.667s
  4. Josh Waters (Halsall Racing Kawasaki) +1.220s
  5. Karl Harris (PR Racing Kawasaki) +1.238s
  6. Lee Costello (Halsall Racing Kawasaki) +1.269s
  7. Dan Linfoot (Lloyds British GBmoto Honda) +1.456s
  8. James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) +1.500s
  9. PJ Jacobsen (Tyco Suzuki) +2.056s
  10. Matteo Baiocco (Rapido Sport Racing Ducati) +2.719s