• MSV 2019 Season Passes
  • Donington Park Stage Rally
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Scott Malvern takes Formula Ford Festival honours

Sunday, October 16 2011

Scott Malvern rounded off a dominant Formula Ford season by taking an emphatic victory in the legendary Formula Ford Festival at Brands Hatch today (Sunday). Malvern added the prestigious title to the Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship he secured earlier this year with a record number of victories.

The Ilford-based driver started the 20-lap Final from Pole Position, having won his Heat, Quarter Final and Semi Final, and made a clean getaway in his Mygale as the lights went out to start the race. Dutchman Steijn Schothorst, third on the grid, made a better start than second-place man Nick McBride - the Australian having to settle for third as the field headed into Paddock Hill Bend.

The early laps saw a seven-car train at the front headed by Malvern, but the pace of the leading trio saw them break away from their pursuers. Schothorst set a series of fastest laps in his Mygale in his efforts to get on terms with Malvern and shake off the attentions of McBride's newer example behind.

Malvern was able to stamp his authority on the race in the closing stages, and put daylight between his car and the battle for second, where McBride found himself unable to make a passing manoeuvre stick. He eventually dropped off Schothorst's tail, taking third at the flag.

Behind the leaders, a five-car battle saw 2009 Festival winner Chrissy Palmer claiming fourth in another Mygale.

Malvern became the 40th winner of the Formula Ford Festival title, joining a roll-call of names that includes Formula One stars Jenson Button, Mark Webber, Eddie Irvine and Johnny Herbert.

In the final for older Zetec-engined cars, Neil Tofts won in a Mygale SJ04, whilst Ballymena's Ivor McCullough was victorious in the Kent-powered final, driving a Van Diemen FR00.

Formula Ford Festival result

1. Scott Malvern, Mygale SJ10, 20 Laps
2. Steijn Schothorst, Mygale SJ10, +0.427s
3. Nick McBride, Mygale SJ11, +1.038s
4. Chrissy Palmer, Mygale SJ10, +9.478s
5. Antti Buri, Mygale SJ11, +10.344s
6. Geoff Uhrhane, Mygale SJ11, +10.573s
7. Robert Wolk, Mygale SJ11, +11.227s
8. Bas Schouten, Mygale 08, +11.307s
9. Matthew Perry, Van Diemen LA11, +14.207s
10. Daniel de Zille, Mygale SJ11, +14.381s

The next major event at Brands Hatch is Halloween Truck Racing on 29-30 October. Tickets are available in advance from £17, with free entry for children aged 12 and under. For more information, click here.