• DRIVE a world famous racing circuit
  • 2022 Season Passes - MotorSport Vision
  • 2022 Tickets on Sale - Brands Hatch
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Bennetts BSB Race 3: Champion Mackenzie wins Brands treble

Sunday, October 17 2021

Tarran Mackenzie won the final race of the 2021 Bennetts British Superbike Championship season following an intense contest with Tommy Bridewell throughout the final Showdown race on the Brands Hatch Grand Prix circuit.

Mackenzie led at the start from Jason O'Halloran, but soon it was Tommy Bridewell into second position as the pair renewed their rivalry from earlier in the day.

Bridewell hit the front of the pack on the second lap and he was holding off the new champion, but in the closing stages, the McAMS Yamaha rider built his attack.

On lap 16, Mackenzie made a dive down the inside at Paddock Hill Bend to grab the lead, but Bridewell was instantly on the attack and he regained the position heading into Sheene Curve.

Mackenzie was determined to claim his first hat trick of race wins in the championship and on the final lap he again snatched the lead heading into Paddock Hill Bend.

Bridewell was defending hard, but as the pair exited Clearways, Mackenzie edged ahead and he then won the drag to the chequered flag for the final time in 2021. Bridewell's second place awarded him second in the overall standings as he soared up the order this weekend.

There was drama for Christian Iddon on the final lap as he was tagged by Danny Buchan at Paddock Hill Bend, sending the pair crashing out of the action.

Jason O'Halloran claimed the final podium position to seal third in the overall standings, holding off the next group of Josh Brookes and Peter Hickman who completed the top five.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Brands Hatch, Race 3 result:

1.     Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha)
2.     Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) +0.126s
3.     Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) +3.266s
4.     Josh Brookes (VisionTrack Ducati) +4.917s
5.     Peter Hickman (FHO Racing BMW) +5.099s
6.     Lee Jackson (FS-3 Racing Kawasaki) +12.005s
7.     Rory Skinner (FS-3 Racing Kawasaki) +13.304s
8.     Bradley Ray (Rich Energy OMG Racing BMW) +14.742s
9.     Andrew Irwin (SYNETIQ BMW) +18.359s
10.  Gino Rea (Buildbase Suzuki) +18.440s

For the full result please click  here

Bennetts British Superbike Championship final standings:

1.     Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) 1202
2.     Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) 1166
3.     Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) 1162
4.     Christian Iddon (VisionTrack Ducati) 1141
5.     Peter Hickman (FHO Racing BMW) 1092
6.     Josh Brookes (VisionTrack Ducati) 1079
7.     Danny Buchan (SYNETIQ BMW) 1075
8.     Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing) 1055

For the full standings please click  here