• Give Christmas the Green Light at Motorsport Vision
  • DRIVE a world famous racing circuit
  • 2022 Season Passes - MotorSport Vision
  • 2022 Tickets on Sale - Brands Hatch
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Bennetts BSB FP2: Brookes back on top in practice

Friday, September 24 2021

Reigning champion Josh Brookes was back on top of the Bennetts British Superbike Championship SUPERPICKS Free Practice times at Oulton Park, heading the opposition for VisionTrack Ducati after a close start to the weekend as the leading 12 riders were covered by just 0.989s in Cheshire.

Australian Brookes claimed his first podium finishes of the season last time out at Silverstone and he carried the momentum into the opening day of the Showdown, waiting until the final minutes of the session to launch back to the top.

Tommy Bridewell had been the pacesetter up until the final five minutes of the day, but the Oxford Products Racing Ducati rider was nudged down the order after Brookes' final sequence of laps, and he was then eased into third when Peter Hickman struck to take second on his final lap.

Championship leader Jason O'Halloran was fourth fastest to lead the McAMS Yamaha pairing, remaining ahead of Christian Iddon; the pair who had taken the fight for victory down to the wire at the Cheshire circuit earlier in the season.

Gino Rea was the first of the Showdown spoilers in sixth, holding off Lee Jackson by just 0.003s to claim sixth place as they edged ahead of Bradley Ray, who crashed out unhurt at Knickerbrook.

Glenn Irwin was ninth fastest for Honda Racing, holding off Danny Buchan who had set the pace in this morning opening session. Andrew Irwin held onto eleventh place just ahead of Tarran Mackenzie, who was the final rider to complete the SUPERPICKS 12 who progress directly into Q2 tomorrow.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Oulton Park, SUPERPICKS Free Practice result:

1.      Josh Brookes (VisionTrack Ducati) 1m:34.201s
2.      Peter Hickman (FHO Racing BMW) +0.173s
3.      Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) +0.270s
4.      Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) +0.285s
5.      Christian Iddon (VisionTrack Ducati) +0.522s
6.      Gino Rea (Buildbase Suzuki) +0.579s
7.      Lee Jackson (FS-3 Kawasaki) +0.650s
8.      Bradley Ray (Rich Energy OMG Racing BMW) +0.653s
9.      Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing) +0.719s
10.   Danny Buchan (SYNETIQ BMW) +0.777s
11.   Andrew Irwin (SYNETIQ BMW) +0.918s
12.   Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) +0.989s