• British Touring Cars - Brands Hatch
  • 2022 Season Passes - MotorSport Vision
  • MSV Trackdays
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
GB3 drivers included in Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Award top-10

Tuesday, September 14 2021

The final 10 drivers eligible for this year's Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Award have been announced, with the list featuring four drivers who have raced in this year's GB3 Championship, plus two others that have previously competed in the UK's premier single-seater category.

Championship leader Zak O'Sullivan, current second-placed driver Ayrton Simmons plus race winners Oliver Bearman and Luke Browning are included on the list.

Meanwhile Jamie Chadwick, who raced in the category in 2017-18 and last year's third-place finisher Louis Foster are also in the running.

The award is one of the most prestigious prizes in motorsport, with a £200,000 cash prize for the winner. GB3 and its predecessors BRDC F4 and BRDC British F3 have a strong track record, with George Russell, Will Palmer, Lando Norris, Tom Gamble and Johnathan Hoggard claiming the prize since 2014.

The list of 10 will be whittled down to four during the next month by a panel of judges including BRDC Vice-President Derek Warwick, previous Award winners Darren Turner, Andrew Kirkaldy and Alexander Sims, BTCC ace Jason Plato, Lola and McLaren designer Mark Williams, top engineer Leena Gade, leading commentator Ian Titchmarsh and Autosport Chief Editor Kevin Turner.

The final four will then undergo two days of testing at Silverstone in a range of machinery including MSV Formula 2 cars, a BBM Sport Ginetta LMP3 and Aston Martin Vantage GT3 cars. The overall winner will be announced at the Autosport Awards on 19 December.