• British Touring Cars - Brands Hatch
  • 2022 Season Passes - MotorSport Vision
  • MSV Trackdays
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
BENNETTS BSB QUALIFYING: O'Halloran on pole at Silverstone

Saturday, September 11 2021

Jason O'Halloran claimed his fourth pole position of the Bennetts British Superbike Championship in a hectic SUPERPICKS Q2 session at Silverstone, as the front row set a pace under the existing lap record in the battle for pole.

Glenn Irwin set the benchmark early in the session before O'Halloran moved to the top; the pair exchanged positions several times before the final five minutes of the session.

O'Halloran seized the advantage, putting the McAMS Yamaha back ahead and in the final minute Tarran Mackenzie closed on his teammate to set the fastest time, just 0.030s adrift of the championship leader.

Tommy Bridewell will complete the front row for Oxford Products Racing Ducati despite a high-speed crash at Copse in the final three minutes of the session.

Gino Rea will lead the second row from Glenn Irwin and Ryan Vickers in the first clash of the weekend for the riders fighting for their place in the Showdown this afternoon.

Josh Brookes was the fastest of the VisionTrack Ducatis in seventh place, ahead of Peter Hickman and Lee Jackson, who are all also in the Title Fighter battle.

Christian Iddon completed the top ten, meanwhile Andrew Irwin will start 11th on the grid despite crashing the SYNETIQ BMW in Q1 at Copse; the team were able to turn it around to get him back on track for Q2.

Kyle Ryde was another rider to crash out of the session at Becketts; he will start just ahead of his teammate Bradley Ray in 14th place.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, SUPERPICKS Qualifying:

1.     Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) 53.169s
2.     Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) +0.030s
3.     Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) +0.156s
4.     Gino Rea (Buildbase Suzuki) +0.259s
5.     Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing) +0.286s
6.     Ryan Vickers (RAF Regular & Reserve Kawasaki) +0.304s
7.     Josh Brookes (VisionTrack Ducati) +0.338s
8.     Peter Hickman (FHO Racing BMW) +0.346s
9.     Lee Jackson (FS-3 Racing Kawasaki) +0.355s
10.  Christian Iddon (VisionTrack Ducati) +0.365s

For the full result please  click here