• Trucks and Fireworks - Brands Hatch
  • 2022 Season Passes - MotorSport Vision
  • 2022 Tickets on Sale - Brands Hatch
  • MSV Trackdays
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
Bennetts BSB Qualifying: Irwin on top at Snetterton

Saturday, September 04 2021

Glenn Irwin delivered a dominant display in the Bennetts British Superbike Championship SUPERPICKS Qualifying session at Snetterton to claim his second consecutive pole position for Honda Racing.

Glenn Irwin launched straight out of the pit box and threw down the gauntlet to his rivals by setting the fastest lap of the weekend on his first exit. However, the time could not be bettered by his rivals and he celebrated the pole position by 0.033s at the chequered flag.

The McAMS Yamaha pairing had surged towards the top in SUPERPICKS Q2 and Jason O'Halloran managed to nudge Tarran Mackenzie back into third as they completed the front row for this afternoon's opening race.

Lee Jackson will head the second row for FS-3 Racing Kawasaki ahead of Peter Hickman, who was furious when he came across Bradley Ray cruising when he was on his fastest lap on the leading FHO Racing BMW.

Andrew Irwin completes the second row for SYNETIQ BMW, holding off Gino Rea on the leading Buildbase Suzuki.

There was drama in the final minute for the VisionTrack Ducati team when Josh Brookes and Christian Iddon collided at Murrays with the pair both crashing out of the session. The defending champion will start eighth on the grid, with Iddon in eleventh position.

Ryan Vickers and Tommy Bridewell completed the top ten for this afternoon's opening BikeSocial Race.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Snetterton, SUPERPICKS Qualifying:

1.     Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing) 1m:46.354s
2.     Jason O'Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) +0.033s
3.     Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) +0.138s
4.     Lee Jackson FS-3 Racing Kawasaki) +0.566s
5.     Peter Hickman (FHO Racing BMW) +0.601s
6.     Andrew Irwin (SYNETIQ BMQ) +0.625s
7.     Gino Rea (Buildbase Suzuki) +0.667s
8.     Josh Brookes (VisionTrack Ducati) +0.676s
9.     Ryan Vickers (RAF Regular & Reserve Kawasaki) +0.701s
10.  Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) +0.751s