• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Driving Experiences
  • YoungDrive with MSV
  • MSV Trackdays
Record entry list for the BTCC in 2011

Thursday, March 24 2011

The Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship will featuring a record entry list in 2011, with the highest number of different makes and car models entered for the series in its recent history lining up on the grid when the title fight gets underway at Brands Hatch next weekend (2/3 April).

Ten makes of car representing Audi, BMW, Chevrolet, Ford, Honda, Proton, SEAT, Toyota, Vauxhall and Volkswagen will all feature on this year's grid. Out of those, 13 different models will be gearing up for action including: Audi A4, BMW 320si, Chevrolet Cruze, Chevrolet Lacetti, Ford Focus, Global Ford Focus, Honda Civic, Honda Integra, SEAT Leon, Toyota Avensis, Vauxhall Vectra and VW Golf.

In total, 27 entries have been received for the 2011 season, including the top five in last year's championship - reigning champion Jason Plato, Matt Neal, Gordon Shedden, Tom Onslow-Cole and Independent title holder Tom Chilton.

The BTCC will also welcome a host of promising new stars this year, such as Ginetta GT Supercup Champion Frank Wrathall and Renault Clio Cup Champion Dave Newsham.

"I'm very, very proud about the way our 2011 season is taking shape," commented BTCC Series Director Alan Gow. "The fact our entry list includes ten different makes and 13 different models of cars a record for the BTCC in the two-litre era in what still remains a challenging financial period is, quite frankly, incredible. The BTCC is (by far) the most watched form of national motor racing in the UK and for us to continue to reach new heights is terrific news for British motor sport as a whole. Full credit must go to all of our teams, drivers and sponsors for their incredible commitment.

"It is important to be mindful that 2011 is both the beginning of a new era and of a transitional period - with the previous breed of Super 2000 cars and the newer NGTC (turbo) machinery being able to fight on an equal footing for the next two seasons, it will make for a fascinating fight."


1. Jason Plato - Silverline Chevrolet, Chevrolet Cruze
2. Matt Neal - Honda Racing Team, Honda Civic
5. Tom Chilton - Team Aon, Global Ford Focus
7. Mat Jackson - Airwaves Racing, Ford Focus
8. Robert Collard - WSR, BMW 320si
11. Frank Wrathall - Dynojet, Toyota Avensis
12. David Pinkney - Rob Austin Racing, Audi A4
13. TBA - Rob Austin Racing, Audi A4
14. James Nash - 888 Racing with Collins Contractors, Vauxhall Vectra
17. Dave Newsham - Geoff Steel Racing, BMW 320si
18. Nick Foster - WSR, BMW 320si
20. Alex MacDowall - Silverline Chevrolet, Chevrolet Cruze
22. Tom Boardman - Special Tuning Racing, SEAT Leon
28. John George - GoMobileUK.com with tech-Speed, Chevrolet Cruze
29. Paul ONeill - GoMobileUK.com with tech-Speed, Chevrolet Cruze
34. Tony Gilham - 888 Racing with Collins Contractors, Vauxhall Vectra
42. Daniel Welch - Welch Automotive, Proton Gen-2
43. Lea Wood - Central Group Racing, Honda Integra
44. Andy Neate - Team Aon, Global Ford Focus
50. Tony Hughes - Speedworks Motorsport, Toyota Avensis
52. Gordon Shedden - Honda Racing Team, Honda Civic
55. Jeff Smith - Pirtek Racing, Vauxhall Vectra
66. Liam Griffin - Airwaves Racing, Ford Focus
77. Andrew Jordan - Pirtek Racing, Vauxhall Vectra
78. Chris James - Team ES Racing.com, Chevrolet Lacetti
99. Tom Onslow Cole - AmD Milltek Racing, Volkswagen Golf
TBA. - Team Aon, Global Ford Focus

Tickets for the opening round of the 2011 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship at Brands Hatch on 2/3 April are now on sale from £25 for adults. Entry is free for children aged 12 and under. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click on the link below.